2022-23 Round 1

CVMA Racing kicked off the 2022/2023 Winter series this past weekend at the newly resurfaced Chuckwalla Raceway. Dedicated racers from all over the country braved the 108-degree heat to compete for the largest purses ever and double points.

During qualifying on Saturday Bryce Prince was fastest on an Open class bike and overall, turning a 1:48.160 lap time. Chad Lewin was fastest on a middleweight with a 1:50.833 and Justin Bordonaro was fastest on a lightweight with a 1:53.461. Josh “The Joker” Fogle was fastest of all the Ultra Lightweight riders turning a 1:58.150 lap time

Multi-race winners on Saturday included; Justin Bordonaro, Dennis Bowers and Jasmine Nichols all winning two races. 

Sunday’s Shootouts started off with a barn burner when Jeff “The Tiger” Tigert bested Chad Lewin in the Supersport Middleweight Shootout. At the start, Lewin got the hole-shot and led the first few laps with Tigert riding a 2009 Honda CBR600RR never more than a few bike lengths behind. Mid-race Tigert was able to pass Lewin and lead the remaining laps with Lewin very close behind. On the final lap, Lewin was close but was never close enough to attempt a pass. The final result was Tigert for the win, Lewin finished second, and Declan “Fast Forward” Van Rosmalen rounding out the podium in third.

In the Formula Ultra Lightweight Shootout, Jasmine Nichols and Josh Fogle had a race-long battle with Nichols taking a close win over Fogle in second. Rafael Revelo Sr. finished third.

Justin Bordonaro won the Formula Lightweight Twins shootout. Ramond Stevens finished second and Pitman Wallace finished third.

In the Stock 1000 Shootout, Jack Bakken got the holeshot and was never headed, taking the win by a comfortable margin. Brice Prince started the race from pole position and slotted into second at the start, but unfortunately lost the front in turn seven and was out of the race early on handing second position to Anthony “Lug Nut” Norton. Norton ran a lonely second the entire race as a battle for the final podium position raged behind. Roger Miller ran most of the race in third with a sizable margin at the start. Late in the race, Wes Farnsworth, Justin Fite, and Dan Dickerman were able to close the gap to Miller. On the final lap, Farnsworth made a brave pass on the inside of turn three to take third position. However, Miller didn’t let the position go without a fight and rounded turn two side by side with Farnsworth. Miller clipped the curb, in turn, one causing him to crash entering the front straight. Farnsworth went on to cross the finish line in third with Dickeman fourth and Fite fifth. Farnsworth was later disqualified from the race as his Aprilia RSV4 (1100cc) was not legal by Stock 1000 rules. The official results gave Bakken the win, Norton second, then Dickerman, Fite and Steve “Zoomer” Zoumaras round out the top five.

Full race results from the weekend can be found at the following link: speedhive.mylaps.com/Events/2057588

CVMA would also like to welcome a new sponsor. Ryder Gear will be sponsoring the Open Supersport class this season.

CVMA offers two full days of racing every race weekend and also includes Saturday qualifying for grid position in all classes, amateur and expert, as well as a wide variety of classes to choose from.

Additionally, CVMA offers free reciprocity as a means of encouraging racers from other clubs to come out and compete. Log on to www.cvmaracing.com for more information.

CVMA. It’s club racing done right.

Note: Corner numbers at Chuckwalla are always referred to in the clockwise direction. This round the track was run in the counterclockwise direction.